We Are Here To Help You With Your Workers’ Comp Case
Filing a workers’ compensation claim in California is a complex process that involves complicated legal procedures and negotiations with your employer and their insurance company. To ensure that you receive the benefits you deserve, you must file your claim properly. The assistance of an experienced lawyer is a crucial resource in your pursuit of fair compensation.
At Workers' Compensation Lawyer, Inc., our skilled attorneys can help you through every step of your workers’ compensation claim. We will assist you with the claim filing process, and beyond. Below are some answers to frequently asked questions about filing a workers’ comp claim in California.
How Do You File A Workers’ Compensation Claim?
To file a workers’ compensation claim in California, you must begin by reporting your injuries to your employer. The processes you must follow to file a workers’ comp claim can vary depending on the policies at your place of work. Generally, injured employees are provided with claims forms upon reporting a work accident. Filling out claims forms typically involves answering questions about your injuries, potential treatment, and other aspects of your workers’ compensation case. After completing the forms, they must be returned to your employer. Your employer will then submit them to their workers’ compensation insurance company for approval.
What Are The Requirements To File A Workers’ Compensation Claim in California?
Work-related injuries in California must be reported to your employer within 30 days. Once your injury is reported, your employer has one day to provide you with claims forms. Then, you have up to a year to file your workers’ compensation claim. On the claims forms, you will need to provide detailed information about your injuries to ensure you are fairly compensated. Additionally, you should discuss the medical treatment you receive while your claim is pending with your employer. You are entitled to up to $10,000 in medical coverage even before your claim is approved under California state law.
Who Can File A Workers’ Compensation Claim?
Workers’ compensation benefits are available to most injured employees in the state of California. Every employer in the state is required to have a workers’ compensation plan in place unless they are self-employed and work alone. If you have sustained a work-related injury, you should be able to file a workers’ compensation claim. There are very few exceptions for people who can file workers’ compensation claims in California.
What Are Some Potential Obstacles When Filling?
The process of resolving a workers’ compensation case unfortunately may not be as simple as filing your claim and collecting your benefits. You may face obstacles while filing your claim, and it is possible that your claim could eventually be denied. With our attorneys on your side, you can face any hurdles that are presented to you during the workers’ compensation claim process.
Your employer should provide you with guidance during the filing process, along with the forms you need. Sometimes, employers do not help their workers file a claim. This may be because of negligence, or they may be actively trying to prevent you from filing a claim. Your employer may even be uninsured. Employers sometimes retaliate against employees who file workers’ compensation claims.
If you face any of these obstacles when attempting to file your workers’ compensation claim, we can help. Preventing you from filing a claim is a violation of your rights – we will do what it takes to get your benefits.
Contact Us For Help
At Workers' Compensation Lawyer, Inc., we are dedicated to fighting for the “Average Joe”®. Call 800-496-0563 or send us an email to schedule your free consultation.